New Board of Directors for WelTec and Whitireia from 1 April 2020

Published on

The New Zealand Institute of Skills and Technology Establishment Board (the Establishment Board) is today announcing directors for the boards of subsidiary Institutes of Technology and Polytechnics (ITPs), effective from 1 April 2020.

The following people have agreed to serve as directors on the board of WelTec and Whitireia from 1 April 2020:

  • Justin Lester – Chair
  • Linda Meade – Deputy Chair
  • Caitlin Barlow-Groome
  • Sue Hope
  • Kura Moeahu (Te Āti Awa)
  • Ranei Wineera-Parai (Ngāti Toa)

The appointment of this Board of Directors is a significant step forward in the journey towards a cohesive, sustainable vocational education system,” says Establishment Board Chair Barry Jordan.

“In making these appointments we have balanced the need to ensure continuity of operation with sound local and regional relationships. We are delighted with the diversity of thought within each board, alongside the complementary skills and experience that will drive positive outcomes for their respective community.”

The Education (Vocational Education and Training Reform) Amendment Act requires that the initial board for each subsidiary ITP comprise at least four and no more than eight directors, of which at least half must reside within the region that the subsidiary primarily serves.

WelTec and Whitireia Board Chair Justin Lester says, “Vocational education and training is hugely important to New Zealand’s and Wellington's social and economic future, and we need a strong platform for our rangatahi to flourish. I'm looking forward to supporting WelTec and Whitireia staff to help deliver the next generation of tradespeople, engineers, IT staff, creatives, hospitality workers and businesspeople.

“The creation of a national network of regionally accessible vocational education and training providers presents an exciting opportunity for our country. Our aim is to ensure it is delivered in a way that supports businesses, organisations and their staff to get the skills they need, and that we are responsive

The Establishment Board has also decided that one NZIST Council member will be a director on each subsidiary ITP board. Each board may also receive a ‘cross-Board appointee’ to further drive the shift from competition to operating as one regionally accessible network of provision. These names will be confirmed in April.

The Establishment Board based its approach to the appointment of directors on the Treasury framework used to appoint directors to the boards of Crown companies. More than 370 expressions of interest were received over the Christmas and New Year period.

All appointments to subsidiary boards are subject to ratification and approval by the NZIST Council on 1 April 2020. Members of this Council will be confirmed by the Minister of Education, Hon Chris Hipkins, before the end of March.