Our Board

From 1 April, Whitireia and WelTec become subsidiaries of the New Zealand Institute of Skills and Technology (NZIST). Our board from that date will comprise:

Read the media release announcing our board’s appointment.

The Education (Vocational Education and Training Reform) Amendment Act requires that the initial board for each subsidiary ITP comprise at least four and no more than eight directors, of which at least half must reside within the region that the subsidiary primarily serves.


Justin Lester – Chair

Justin Lester is a businessman and local government politician who has served as both Mayor and Deputy Mayor of Wellington.

An experienced Director, he is currently the Chair of Storbie and Good Bitches Baking. His previous governance roles include Local Government New Zealand National Board, Wellington Waterfront Ltd, The NZ Festival of the Arts, and Zealandia. He is currently working with fast growing businesses Dot Loves Data, Fix & Fogg and Simplicity.

Justin is a 2020 New Zealander of the Year Community Award winner and holds an LLM from the University of Heidelberg and an LLB/BA from the University of Otago.

Linda Meade – Deputy Chair

Linda has been a partner at Deloitte since 2013, where her roles include Lead Partner Deloitte Access Economics, and Lead Partner Public Sector, Financial Advisory Services.

Linda is the co-founder of Daisies Early Education and Care centres and trustee of the Whanake Education Trust.  She has a passion for education and supporting the economic prosperity and liveability of the Wellington region.

A founding member of the Advisory Board to the Women’s Infrastructure Network, Linda is also an independent director on the boards of The NZ Initiative and Studio Pacific Architecture and a former Trustee of the Wellington Zoo Trust.

Caitlin Barlow-Groome

Caitlin Barlow-Groome is the Association Manager at Massey at Wellington Students' Association. She was previously the President at Otago University Students' Association, New Zealand Union of Students' Associations Vice-President and Acting President, and sat on numerous boards and committees including University of Otago Council and University Bookshop.

Caitlin has a background in finance, economics and youth leadership and development. She is currently a board member for Student Job Search and the Aotearoa Youth Leadership Institute.

Suzanne (Sue) Hope

Sue is a consultant, facilitator, director and mentor. She has a strong background in global corporate learning, strategy, and delivery with 19 years’ experience across the health, education, human resources and more recently the technology sectors. She works with clients, leaders and staff to grow and develop them as life-long learners.

Sue is passionate about building a strong work-based learning sector, so all employees have access to learning when and where they need it. She currently works as a sole trader consulting with a range of businesses and organisations in learning, organisational development and change. She is a trustee of the Miramar Maupuia Community Trust.

Kura Moeahu

Not yet available.

Ranei Wineera-Parai

Ranei (Ngāti Toa Rangatira) is passionate about supporting people to reach their potential through learning.  She currently chairs a high school Board of Trustees and is a strong community advocate for education and continued learning.

Ranei wants to ensure the ability for vocational pathways and learning remain accessible and appropriate for the Wellington Region and is excited about the new opportunities presented by the reform of vocational education. 

Ranei was born in Porirua and raises her whānau in Takapuwahia, Porirua. She enjoys being surrounded by whānau, the beautiful environment and the vibrant community.

Kathy Grant

Kathy Grant was formerly an Associate in the Dunedin legal practice of Gallaway Cook Allan. Kathy was appointed to the IST Establishment Board in August 2019 and confirmed as a member of the governing council of Institute of Skills and Technology in March 2020. She has been a Ministerial appointee and Chair of the Otago Polytechnic Council since 2010, and was previously a member of the University of Otago Council and Chair of the Council of the Dunedin College of Education. She is also a deputy chair of Dunedin City Holdings Limited, and Dunedin City Treasury Limited. In 2015, the Minister of Health appointed Mrs Grant as Commissioner of Southern District Health Board following the disestablishment of the DHB.


Notice of Meetings